Jim Furyk

character. charity. sportsmanship.

Just days after shooting 58 to break the record for the lowest single-round score in PGA TOUR history...

the PGA TOUR and Southern Company announced Jim Furyk – 17-time PGA TOUR winner and 2010 FedExCup champion – as the recipient of the 2016 Payne Stewart Award. The past winners have all distinguished themselves through their ability to make a positive impact in the lives of others.

the highest of honors

the highest of honors

“I was fortunate enough to know Payne as a colleague and friend, and I always admired the character and spirit he brought to the game of golf.” said Furyk. “The Award is an important part of the TOUR’s efforts to honor Payne’s legacy. Knowing my name will be forever linked to him through this honor is extremely humbling.”

Jim Furyk shoots a record 58 at the Travelers Championship

The magic number in golf for decades has been the elusive score of 59. Already a member of the “59 club” after shooting the magic number in 2013, Jim Furyk out-does himself in the final round of the 2016 Travelers Championship.

jim Furyk shoots 58, makes PGA TOUR history

Sitting 135 yards from the hole on the third, Furyk rattled the flag and heard it "smack the pin" and disappear. Because the pin was in the shade, Furyk had no idea it went in the cup for eagle until a group of fans started cheering.

Career Highlights

17-Time PGA TOUR Champion Including:

  • 2003 U.S. Open
  • 2010 TOUR Championship
  • 2010 Valspar Championship
  • 2015 RBC Heritage
  • 3 International Victories
  • 2010 Fed Ex Cup Champion
  • 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year
  • 2010 PGA of America Player of the Year
  • 15 Consecutive US National Teams
  • 9x Ryder Cup Team Member
  • 7x Presidents Cup Team Member
  • 2x Grand Slam of Golf Champion